Our Own Plane

The first time I arrived on Roatan island, off the coast of Honduras, I was leading my first tour group back in January. The weather was horrific – a big storm had blown in down from the polar vortex in the US.

The ferry crossing was subsequently cancelled so we had the decision to either stay on the mainland in La Ceiba or try to get to the island another way. With the help of Marvin, a local taxi driver, I negotiated with various flights agencies to charter our own plane. He earned his tip that day! I talked it over with clients and all agreed to put something towards the extra cost of the flight.

It all happened pretty quickly. We arrived at the airport, I paid for the charter, and we walked pretty much straight onto the plane with all our bags for our 10 minute flight. As soon as we made it to our resort hotel on the island I knew we made the right call. It was a mad day.

Leave a Reply

