‘One Hundred Years of Solitude’

Gabriel García Márquez was one of the greatest authors of our generation. ‘A Chronicle of a Death Foretold’ remains one of my favourite books, although maybe that’s because I had to study his work for four years back in college.

Following his death I wanted to finally read what many regard as his masterpiece, the book that won him the Nobel Prize for literature, ‘One Hundred Years of Solitude’. I ambitiously bought the Spanish version, thinking it would improve my Spanish further, but I have only succeeded in overcomplicated an already dense plot. I am not even halfway through the book despite having started it way back in April. The way it’s going, it might even take me a hundred years to finish the damn thing.

Leave a Reply

